Tech Tuesdays

At least I learned how to say "Leelanau"

Howdy šŸ‘‹

Last week was the first post for this blog. There is definitely room to grow, but Iā€™m glad I got some words out into the universe.

Welcome to our 7 subscribers this week. Thanks for spreading the word.

Pearson's Law (check out last week's newsletter) has kept me going. This week I'm going to introduce you to Tech Tuesday which is related and existed for a brief period of time long before I knew what Pearson's Law even was.

How Tech Tuesday came to be

In short, Tech Tuesday is a video series made by yours truly that make me cringe šŸ˜³.

Back in the dark COVID winter of 2020/2021, Alex Gara, Matt David, and I threw around some weird bocce and curling tech ideas.

In essence, we were all not working. Bocce was shut down due to COVID and I terminated a client relationship to find my next project. We had a bunch of free time to throw stuff at the wall to see what sticks šŸ”ŗ. For me these were some software and electronics projects.

In order to share what we were up to, Alex had an idea to make Tech Tuesday promo videos and post them on OddballSports.tv and Instagram.

Our first big project was at the Leelanau Curling Club near Maple City, Michigan. We created a series of "Learn to Curl" videos with a cool dude named David Gersenson. David G. built a curling club and restaurant out of an old school house building all on his own. He even learned how to make special beveled curling ice without hiring professionals.

In addition to the "Learn to Curls" we planned (1) a livestream of a mini Bonspiel (aka curling tournament) and (2) to debut new curling tech ā€” a digital scoreboard, a player entry system, and a highlight reel button box.

I'll talk more about these projects in future posts. To get a quick feel for one of them, here's the Curling Scoreboard that I designed and built in less than 1 week for less than $50 bucks. The components included:

Check out these photos from our trip:

Tech Tuesday in all its glory

These videos are dying to be watched and shared. Here are all 4 of them for your viewing pleasure...

šŸ‘† Tuesday, February 9th, 2021

šŸ‘† Tuesday, February 16th, 2021

šŸ‘† Tuesday, February 23rd, 2021

šŸ‘† Tuesday, March 2nd, 2021

Turns out, it is pretty tough to create a 30 second video when you are camera shy.

It was funny though, and eventually I learned how to pronounce "Leelanau" (LEE - LEN - AWE). Blooper above.

Tuesday publications

In keeping with the Tech Tuesday theme, this blog will now be published every Tuesday.

If I miss a week, please remind me right before I roll a bocce stone to distract me on the court.

To Tuesdays šŸ„‚ which are good for tacos šŸŒ®, blog posts šŸ“˜, and bocce tech šŸ‘Øā€šŸ’». I don't think they're great for funky videos šŸŽ„ of me though, but please FWD this email to anyone you think will enjoy them!

~Digital Dave

Reply

or to participate.