Pearson's Law

The reason I'm starting a technology blog

👋 Howdy!

I'm starting a blog/newsletter with a focus on sharing my journey tinkering with technology and developing proof of concept products for sports.

This is my very first post! So rest assured if you've stumbled upon this in the early days, there will be more to come.

Welcome to the 22 subscribers that have joined so far.

Pearson's Law

Pearson's Law states,

(1) When performance is measured, performance improves.

(2) When performance is measured and reported, the rate of improvement accelerates.

- maybe by Karl Pearson (mixed reports)

So why the heck do the words of Pearson matter to this blog?

I first was introduced to Pearson's Law on an episode about accomplishing goals on The Mindset Mentor podcast. To achieve just about any goal whether it is related to business or even weight loss, if you consistently measure your progress and report it to an accountability partner, your performance is likely to accelerate.

I hope to put this into practice by writing this blog and reporting my performance along the way. For me on these ambitious pipe-dream esque projects, I hope that my performance will improve in the following areas:

  • Ideation & Discovery

  • Explaining complex systems

  • Simplification where possible

  • Overcoming obstacles

  • Accomplishing milestones

  • Finding collaborators

  • Consistently making progress

While I have passion for building, sometimes I struggle with ambition and consistency. I actually started tinkering with cameras and software for bocce back in October 2020. That said, I tend to get bursts of creativity particularly depending on my mood and especially in the cold, dark days of winter. And while it might sound easy to build software on the evenings and weekends, software is my day job, so it is easy to get burned out by the computer screen in the first place. I prefer to pack my summer nights with social sports, specifically bocce ball, which will be the subject of many of my musings.

In many cases, I'd rather be playing bocce right now rather than dreaming, coding, or building technology that I feel the sport needs in order to one day be aired on ESPN2.

Speaking of ESPN2, I'm a little jealous of the fact that the American Cornhole League sponsored by Johnsonville brats 🌭 is already sometimes aired when the sport isn't nearly as interesting or dynamic as bocce (fact: cornhole just isn't interesting even though it can occasionally be a good way to pass time). Bocce needs a little love in terms of technology to make it to mainstream TV and hopefully back into the Olympics.

Maybe it's that Johnsonville sponsorship money. Or maybe since nearly every mainstream sport was canceled in 2020/2021 there was room for socially distant cornhole on late night TV.

My inspiration for tinkering on small self-contained projects (some built with future interoperability in mind) stems from past experiences, desire to learn, and knowing what is possible. 

And yes, possible doesn't mean practical. Honestly, if some of these projects were practical they would already be prevalent. I know that some of my creations are pipe dreams. This isn't the NFL with deep pockets for technology investment. It isn't revenue ready or or even affordable to an already struggling bocce facility. All that said, it is a fun and challenging hobby.

I sincerely hope that you find value in following along and I hope that I find value through the process of writing.

Most of all, I hope that you'll be my accountability partner. Ask me what I've been building lately. Share your ideas. Forward to a friend. And for fuck's sake, if this blog sucks, please unsubscribe!

Until next time,

~ Digital Dave

Reply

or to participate.